Friday’s Fabulous Beauty Flash

Under Eye Concealer

It’s hard for me to believe that until recently, this product laid dormant in my makeup drawer. In fact, I didn’t even know that I’d bought it until it had been scanned at the till – Little Teen likes to sneakily pop things she likes into my shopping basket when I’m not looking! But this wasn’t one of her usual celebrity inspired teenage products, it was grown up: Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circles Concealer + Treatment…hmmm, perhaps she was tactfully trying to tell me something? Whatever the reason, I am now thanking Little Teen for introducing me to one of my foolproof makeup must haves…

Waking up one dark morning recently and bemoaning the fact that my sunkissed, healthy looking complexion had been replaced by sallow, lucklustre skin with raccoon under eye circles, I checked out my stash of beauty products to see whether there was anything that might bring a flash of lightness and vitality to my face. It was a big ask, I can tell you. Realising it was the darkness around the eyes that was making the biggest impact – I was rocking ‘death warmed up’ – I thought I’d give the forgotten concealer a whirl. Quelle Surprise!

close up maybelline dark circle eraser                                                                                                                                      Photo credit: I Know all the Words

I’m not usually a big fan of under eye concealers as I find they can be a bit ‘cakey’ and make the areas you’re trying to conceal even more conspicuous. I had obviously never found the right one, until now! The consistency of this concealer is quite light and cooling and although it is fairly watery, it blends in smoothly without getting stuck in wrinkles or dry patches. A fab tip that I learned from a makeup artist, is to slightly tilt your face down and then look into the mirror before applying – this angle emphasises the dark shadows and you’ll see exactly where you need the extra help. I find a touch of concealer under the eye, close to the nose gives an instant lift and a little blended over the lid acts as a super base for eyeshadow. The finished look is a moisturised, much brighter eye area meaning a happier, better looking me!

For £7.99 it’s a great budget buy and if it can work its magic under my eyes, then I’m definitely going to be investing in its pretty-me-up sister product, Maybelline’s Instant Age Rewind Eraser Treatment Makeup and hope it helps illuminate the rest of my complexion!

Tell me about your favourite beauty products that you can’t do without, I’d love to know!

Leave a Reply

