Summer Beauty Favourites|Part 2

Me and Stressed Husband chilling in Devon
Me and Stressed Husband chilling in Devon

I love August. Not just because it’s my birthday month but because it’s the time when we take full advantage of the warm weather and try to escape the stresses of a busy work and family life by having a couple of lovely long weekends away in Devon. But I even adore the weekends spent chilling at home where we are lucky to live just by the river – and we take full advantage of the quaint riverside pubs as our Facebook check-ins will testify! We’ve been so spoilt this year with the glorious weather and as a Leo sun lover, it has delighted me no end; you won’t catch me complaining that it’s too hot!  So to keep me looking and feeling as glorious and bright as the sunshine, I’ve got a few more fabulous summer beauty must-haves which I promised to bring you in my last post – you can read it by clicking here if you missed it…

 

lip crayon wiht kaftan

 

I know I’ve written about how much I love a golden glow whether it’s winter or summer and I truly do, but this year, for me it’s been all about the lips! Not being blessed with a Scarlett Johansson-esque pout I’ve always thought it safer to steer away from vivid colours and go for glossy neutrals in toffee, caramel or blush shades. They give the lips a boost without drawing too much attention and I do still like them BUT since I’ve experimented with some of the new lip crayons that have surfaced this spring/summer on the beauty shelves, I’m happy to report that I’m bringing colour back!

swatch of Rumour Has It from Rimmel
Left: Bourjois Fuchsia Libre | Middle: Rimmel Rumour Has It | Right: Rimmel Not an Illusion

Lip Crayons have a great texture – soft and waxy with rounded nibs which make application a doodle and they deliver creamy colour which isn’t as bright on the lip as it is on the packaging. There’s no faffing around with a lip pencil to get a precise line, you just slick it on and pout away. In the picture with me and Stressed Husband above where we are outside a pub in Devon, I was wearing Rimmel Lasting Finish Colour Rush Balm in Rumour Has It which is a beautiful raspberry pinky/red. I had countless compliments that evening and as you can see, even Stressed Husband was impressed – and he prefers me in natural looking makeup or even no makeup at all! Er, not going there, sorry! Also, another great thing about lip crayons in a vivid shade is that they make you look like you’ve tried even when you haven’t and easy glamour is what I’m all about! I realise that some of the more expensive brands such as Clinique and Dior have fabulous lip crayons and I give thanks to Clinique Chubby Sticks for starting off the whole crayon craze, but I still think you can get some fantastic results with a less expensive brand, like my favourites Rimmel Colour Rush Balm, £5.99 and Bourjois Colour Boost Lip Crayon, £7.99. Both are available from Boots.

 

clarins eau fragrances

My final summer beauty essential is scent. I think the fragrance you wear plays a big part in allowing you to conjure up wonderful summer memories and so I wouldn’t be without my two Clarins scents, Eau des Jardins, a light, floral and very feminine fragrance and Eau Ressourcante, a super fresh spritz of relaxing essential oils of Basil, Cedarwood and Sarsaparilla.  A few summers ago, the Glowology family were lucky enough to spend 3 weeks on a California road trip, driving from LA to Las Vegas. It was one of the happiest times of my life and its memories are even more special to me because it looks like this was the last summer holiday where I will ever have all of my children with me 😦 With Drama Queen being 20, My Boy 18 and Little Teen, 14, it isn’t surprising the older two want to spend their summers making their own memories with their friends – I know I did!

america

 

But, back to smells and the memories they evoke – it was Eau des Jardins that Drama Queen wore that whole trip and so now, whenever I spray it I feel happy and remember those times…I also remember the kids fighting and arguing for leg room in the back of our wagon as we cruised along the Big Sur, but that’s a whole other story! I think my next buy will have to be the Clarins Sunshine Fragrance with a blend of uplifting ingredients such as Watermelon, Mimosa and Grapefruit. Sounds divine doesn’t it?! Maybe then I’ll be inspired to make a whole new bank of special memories. 🙂 You can buy Clarins fragrances for £32 on their website here but if you’re heading off abroad then pick them up for £25 at duty free.

I would love to hear about what makes you look and feel your fabulous best this summer!

sunflower

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Summer Beauty Favourites|Part 2

  1. Oh yes it does sound divine, I need to have a sniff. It’s so hard when the kids start doing there own thing, our older ones have often come away with us too, having two holidays but last year it was just the three of us and the same this year. Lovely picture of your children x

    Like

  2. Hi Sharron thanks for dropping by. It is a lovely pic of the kids albeit an old one – trying to get them all together in one place now is pretty difficult! We were lucky enough to have our oldest daughter with us last year and the younger one but not our son. What’s worse now is that the 14 year old looks in horror when she realises she’ll be coming with me and her dad on her own! We’re not that old and boring – honest! 🙂 x

    Like

Leave a Reply

