Over 40 Celebrity Beauty Spotlight: Jerry Hall

Jerry Hall lead photo

Can you believe Jerry Hall is 58? She looks incredible doesn’t she? I’m not sure if she’s one of those who say ‘oh, yes I’ve tried Botox once, but didn’t like it so haven’t done it since’. How many times have we heard that line in interviews with oddly Benjamin Button-esque, age reversing celebs? It’s as if celebrities of a certain age know that we know they’ve done something and so by letting us know they’ve done it ‘just the once’ then, despite their frozen in time shiny forehead, rabbit nose lines and the fact they’ve only aged a month in 10 years, we will put it down to their incredible fountain of youth genes. They’re all natural…only did Botox the once you see? Hmmm, of course they did. 

Anyway, Jerry looks fab. Whether she’s in the Botox brigade or not…she’s very natural looking. I kind of agree with her feature in the Daily Mail on Monday about not wearing beige if you want to look good in your 50s. Although I confess to loving a bit of beige – I think it suits me because of my fairly olive skin –Jez is right in that it can be an unforgiving shade and, as we age, our complexion needs something a little more vibrant to stop it looking like a bag o’ dough. The same goes for black which can also start to look unflattering and a little too harsh against certain skin tones. I think once we reach 45, it’s a good idea to take stock of the changes in our skin and hair and it’s probably the ideal time to invest in a colour analysis session which is something I’ve been thinking of doing with some friends. Once I get my act together and actually do this, i’ll let you know how I get on.

I also love the beauty tips Jerry’s mum passed down to her, such as slathering olive oil onto hair and body once a week to keep it supple. I have an arsenal of oils (see picture for proof) which I switch and use day or night, when I feel my skin needs extra hydration. I would like to think of adding Jerry’s full body oil treatment to my beauty routine but I can bet, just as I’ve basted myself, I’ll pick up my iphone to check texts and it’ll slip out of my oily hands and smash on the floor. Plus, my bonkers dog sheds black hairs all over the house and I can’t imagine it being pleasant having to pick them off oily limbs. It will need to be a bathroom only affair. But the new oil of de jour has to be coconut oil doesn’t it? Its beauty and wellbeing benefits are everywhere at the moment and one of my favourite bloggers, Vicki, over at Honestmum swears by it as her miracle go-to product for everything from healing scars to replenishing the hair and skin with goodness. And let me tell you, if it can help get me hair and skin like hers, then I’m all for it!

arson of oils

As for fashion, I think I’m into growing old semi-disgracefully. I don’t want to go the whole hog ‘look at me, my tits are at my knees and my gut is on my ankles and I’m still rocking a leopard print cropped top because I’M MEEEEE!’ No, I’m not that much of a nutjob, but I do still like to shake it up a little with my vintage snakeskin boots and a pleather trouser now and then. Regardless of what my kids think, I am 47 – not 107!

snakeskin boots

What’s your take on looking good as we age then? I’d love to know!

2 thoughts on “Over 40 Celebrity Beauty Spotlight: Jerry Hall

  1. Love this post and you look stunning lazy. I’m wearing leopard till I die. Ha. Adore that Jerry Hall uses olive oil in her hair and body, I use a mild one we a moisturiser sometimes and all the time when the kids were babies. I always think if you would eat the oil use it on your skin. Rose water is great as a toner and in the bath too. Thanks so much for mentioning me x

    Like

    1. Hi Vicki. Thank you for dropping by! It really does seem that it’s all about the oils these days and I’m a sucker for natural, easy beauty fixes so they’re wonderful. I’ll try the rose water tip too! Thanks for that :-). Have a great weekend! X

      Like

Leave a Reply

