Long Hair in Your 40s – Yes You Can!

Long hair but good lighting!
Long hair but good lighting!

Yesterday, fabulous over 40s fashion blogger, Catherine Summers, at Not Dressed As Lamb asked the question in a feature she wrote for Good Housekeeping online: Can You Wear Leather Trousers Over 40, 50, 60…? The resounding reply from her readers was YES, WE CAN! I got involved with the debate on Twitter and threw in my tuppence worth which is, I wouldn’t wear them because I never have, they don’t suit my shape (I think) but I believe my gorgeous mum, who is in her 70s, could still wear them and look amazing. And today in the Daily Mail, there was another myth exposed as writer, Virginia Ironside grew her usual short locks long and proved that, even in her 70s, long hair can look wonderful! I tell you what, let’s just rip up the beauty and style rule book for over 40s and rebel…we can do, wear and be what the hell we please…with cherries on top!

Not Dressed As Lamb
Not Dressed As Lamb

Helen Hunt long hair

Julianne Moore long hair

Heidi Klum

Julia Roberts long hair

Daphne Selfe model

All of these celebrities above look gorgeous and I’m not saying we shouldn’t be careful of entering the mutton zone, just that we should be confident enough to wear whatever makes us happy and feel good, whatever our age. What do you think?

 

 

Unless stated all images via Pinterest

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

20 thoughts on “Long Hair in Your 40s – Yes You Can!

  1. Lisa I’m soooooooooo glad women are gradually coming round to the fact that we really should be ignoring all these rules as we get older. The “traditional” fashion rules (don’t mix patterns, bags and shoes should match, no more than three colours in your outfit, etc.) are mostly being ignored today – thank goodness! So over time we’ll wear down the naysayers; it’s great that our rebellious voices are being heard, and I’m 100% convinced it’s bloggers (and blogging) we have to thank for that.

    Hmm that was a bit deep for 9:15 on a Saturday morning… but you know what I mean I’m sure! Your hair looks stunning btw, it’s the perfect style for you. I’m planning on being a Caryn Franklin or a Kristen McMenamy with the silver hair as I get older – it’s just a matter of when that’s all 🙂

    Catherine x
    notdressedaslamb.com

    Like

    1. P.S. Hope you don’t mind if I quote myself(?!) for a Facebook post… I don’t often get so deep but I quite like what I wrote there!

      Like

  2. I am 35 so not there yet but I have VERY long hair – down to the backs of my knees long! My question to myself is normally how long is too long and how old is too old to have hair this long? #brilliantblogposts

    Like

    1. Hi Mummy Fever, thanks for popping by to my blog 😊. Wow it must’ve taken years to get your hair that long? I would imagine it’s hard to style or wear in different ways being so long? That’s the only reason I would cut it if it were my hair. But if it suits you and you like it then keep it! That said, have you ever thought about taking it to just below shoulder length? It will still be long, easier to style and might make you feel invigorated – you know, how a makeover often does? Let me know if you decide to go for the chop. And as for age, it really doesn’t come into it anymore for us over 40s – we are doing it our way! 😀

      Like

      1. I think about cutting it every day! Mainly because I don’t have time to do it properly because of the children. I just have this feeling that once I cut it that’s it – I just don’t think it would ever grow back the same.

        Like

  3. I’m just about to turn 40 and have long hair. I have no desire to cut it! And loads of friends who are a similar age also have long hair. Your final pic (who IS that amazing woman?) proves you can wear it at any age, so long as you still feel it suits your vibe.

    Like

    1. Hi Pigeonpairandme – thanks for dropping by! Good for you – if it feels right, keep it! I remember when my mum and her friends all began to hit the 40 mark and started cutting their hair into sensible bobs or shorter…it seemed to be ‘the thing’ years ago. Not anymore 🙂 THAT amazing woman (last pic) is 80 year old model Daphne Selfie…how great does she look?! There simply are no rules anymore when it comes to your hair (or clothes for that matter). As you say – if it still suits your vibe, go for it! x

      Like

  4. I’ve literally just had my hair cut! I had 5 inches off last week and I guess it’s still fairly long, by some standards, now I’m at a respectable collarbone length!! I love having hair I can do something with — and really can’t see I’ll ever have my hair really short again. By choice anyway.

    I could pull it off in my 20s — and even my 30s — but ‘sensible’ has never really been my gig to be honest. My hair — or my style — wouldn’t really suit a bob!!

    I’m 42 now BTW!! 😉

    Like

    1. Hi Caro and thanks for popping by to Glowology! Love your hair – checked it out on Instagram 🙂 It’s a lovely length – you can work with it easily and not too long that it might feel shapeless. 5 inches off is brave but I can see it’s worth it and I’m definitely with you on the sensible bob – just wouldn’t be me either! #BrillBlogPosts xx

      Like

    1. Hi Mel, thanks for reading my blog! Hope you and your long hair have a very happy birthday! 🙂 Glad you liked my post – seems a lot of women agree that long hair can be worn whatever our age. Yay!! x #brilliantblogposts

      Like

  5. Love you hair, you look stunning and like the other commenters have said, there are no rules, I have long hair, always have and reckon I always will (through choice)-it’s me and my Grandma had long hair aged 96 and was the most beautiful woman I’ve ever known. I say, our hair, our rules, short, long, we should do what feel rights for us and make us feel confident and happy. Thanks for linking up!

    Like

    1. Thank you Vicky – that’s so kind of you! If you EVER cut your hair, you will have me to answer to! It’s gorgeous so don’t you ever 🙂 Your grandma sounds an amazing woman – it’s in the genes of course! I’m so with you about doing what feels right to us – feeling happy and confident in the skin we’re in is all that matters. #brilliantblogposts

      Like

  6. Yes, I agree. I’m just over 6 years off 40 (and I’m not even going to lie and say that that doesn’t inexplicably terrify me), but even in my 30s I am wearing looks that I probably ‘shouldn’t’ be. I’ve been told I get away with them all (my friends are either very kind or good liars). I do what I feel comfortable with and what I like the look of in photos and in the mirror. Conversely, I recently cut my perpetually long hair off and am now sporting a curly bob. I feel that it is a younger do, and feel younger wearing it. The question is, can I still wear my Dr Martens beyond 40?!

    #BrilliantBlogPosts

    Like

Leave a Reply

