Invisible or Irresistible after 40?

looking in the mirror

If you’re pondering upon the digits of an up and coming birthday or you’ve caught a glimpse of your reflection in a window or mirror today and thought ‘who is that old lady? Oh…it’s me!’ You are not alone…

Now, I know the idea of my blog is to bring some glowology and positive vibes into your life, but it talks real life too and we are allowed to own up to not feeling great all of the time. Nobody is perfect, right?

So, regardless of what some might have you believe, growing older isn’t always a treat. I’m talking face creases from your pillow that don’t disappear until after lunch, boobs that feel more at home on your tummy than on your chest and builders who shout out “Don’t worry love, it might not ever happen” as your expression looks more hang dog than perky Pekingese these days.

Of course, I moan about all of those things above…and many more, although I must admit that I do actually find a cosy, contented kind of comfort in being 47 and not 27.

mum dad and daughter

Stressed Husband and I gate-crashed my daughter’s 21st last week at an achingly hip club in Shoreditch, mingled with all her cool young friends and danced all night…and really loved it! But boy, was I glad to kick off my heels at 4am, grab a mug of tea and have a giggle with Stressed Husband about how happy we are that our life no longer involves pushing our way through a heaving scrum to get to the bar and shouting at each other over deafening music.

Friends of ours feel the same – yes we often mourn the loss of our youth – the heady ‘what’s around the corner’ days where we felt invincible and believed we could do or be anything we wanted as the world was our oyster. We might not have that burning ambition anymore, but we still have dreams – would never give those up!

Actually, I also mourn the less meaningful things like the fact that foundation didn’t use to settle in eye crinkles and I could go to work after having only had an hour sleep but still look great and function perfectly well. But we are also perfectly happy to be in the place we are now.

me and John in 8 grove park terrace kitchen

As an ode to getting older, I’ve put together a few quotes from famous women that show us we really ought to be celebrating our age…we really should, you know.

“I think, like many women, I was judgmental toward women as they aged. Women, in our society, are compartmentalized so that we start to feel like we’re cut flowers and after a while we will wilt. I realize now that’s not the case — we can celebrate every age” Charlize Theron

‘I think I look nicer now. It’s really weird cause when you’re 21 you think, “Oh God, when I’m 36, oh God, that’s nearly 40, and I’ll look really old and wrinkly by then”. And actually I quite like the way I look. I feel OK about myself these days.’ Kate Winslet

‘I have absolutely no objection to growing older. I am a stroke survivor so I am extremely grateful to be ageing – I have nothing but gratitude for the passing years. I am ageing – lucky, lucky me!’ Sharon Stone
 

‘If everybody had facelifts, there would be no one to play the old people! You see some American programmes and think: “Oh my god is that supposed to be her mother? I thought she was meant to be her sister? Oh please! Have some real faces!” Julie Walters

 
‘I’m almost 50, so I obviously don’t have the same body that I had when I was 20. But I also don’t have the same mindset either, when I was wracked with self-consciousness and insecurity. Now I really appreciate my maturity as a woman, my depth of spirit and soul and my understanding of who I am and what’s important to me.’ Elle Macpherson
 
 
What things make you happy about getting older?

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

Leave a Reply

