Fitness Trends | Piloxing

piloxing

After a particularly strenuous workout today, I started thinking about my fitness levels and, although I’m not super fit, I’ve actually surprised myself by keeping up some sort of regular exercise regime for the past couple of years. It’s become a healthy habit that I must admit, I love! 

Funny that I’ve caught the fitness bug in my 40s when the only thing I put energy into during my 20’s and 30’s – apart from the whirling dervishes that are my children – was eating. Now though, as you can see from a couple of my older posts on jogging and the latest high intensity workouts I’ve upped my game and it just shows you, it’s never too late to start!

What’s the latest, coolest exercise class to hit the UK from LA LA land? Well, although our fabulous instructor had her finger on the pulse and got us into it a couple of years ago, it now seems as if the world is catching on and we are all going potty for Piloxing!

Viveca Piloxing

What is Piloxing? I hear you cry. It’s the latest Hollywood celebrity fitness craze loved by celebrities like Hilary Duff and Vanessa Hudgens, and in the words of the official website here, it mixes Pilates and boxing into a ‘fat torching’ and ‘muscle sculpting’ workout guaranteed to whip you into shape.

And in my words? It’s flipping hard work and at first you feel like a bit of a twonk dipping and diving and upper cutting and jabbing – until you start to experience those feel good endorphins zooming around your body as you do the ‘booty burnout’ (wobble your bum really fast – a tsunami of tush!)

jogging feet

Before long, you start to stop worrying about what you look like and enjoy it! Really, you do. The loud, pumping music is an upbeat mix of current street sounds which can sometimes get stuck in your head and drive you loopy for the rest of the day, but it really adds to the powerful workout.

Swedish dancer and celebrity trainer Viveca Jensen, developed Piloxing to fulfill her mission to physically and mentally empower women through fitness. So, what’s not to love…apart from the beetroot face and jelly legs after a class? Here’s how it goes…

If you’re near Chiswick and you want to check out Piloxing, come to to Anny’s studio or find a class across the UK here.

PS. Don’t let the slightly scary, high powered Piloxing video put you off! Piloxing is challenging but I can assure you, most of us over 40s working out don’t look like those intimidating, super fit gym bunnies in the above video. You’re more likely to find us in baggy t-s and M&S leggings giggling at our Rocky boxing impersonations and having fun as we workout!

So, what are you waiting for? Get your gloves on!

 Images from the official piloxing website (apart from me in my trainers!).
Fitness 4 Mamas

9 thoughts on “Fitness Trends | Piloxing

  1. Looks like heaps of fun! Would love to give it a try! Thanks for keeping me up to date with what’s new. I’ll be sure to drop Piloxing into conversation this week!

    Like

    1. Hi Mummyfever! Thanks for reading 🙂 It’s hard not to love Piloxing even though it can be quite tough if you’re not used to regular exercise – but definitely worth it! x #FitnessTuesday

      Like

  2. Gosh I’ve not even heard of this I’m so behind the times!!!! It sounds totally awesome though and great fun 🙂 #FitnessTuesday xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

