Get Happy with The Sunshine Vitamin D3

embracing-the-sunWay back in February I wrote a post about how to make yourself feel good when you’re feeling a bit down (click here) and I often write about how the dark, cold days of winter leave me feeling blah as well (click here). You have every right to think I’m a bit of a moany madam, but it’s really just the winter that does it to me…oh and living in a perpetual building site!

But I wanted to let you know about my favourite feel good find – and I’m so pleased it’s come my way just as the days are getting shorter – and wetter! It’s a handy little Vitamin D3 spray from Natural Health Practice that was sent to me, along with the staggering results of research by the Scientific Advisory Committee, that found a huge 60% of the UK population are deficient in Vitamin D!

Screen Shot 2015-09-03 at 15.45.14

So, why do we need Vitamin D? Apart from boosting your mood, Vitamin D helps the body to absorb phosphorous and calcium, which are essential to bone growth and inadequateΒ levels of it can lead to insufficient bone density, fatigue, and muscle aches.

Most dermatologists will tell you to wear sunscreen daily – so this, plus the fact that we have low levels of sunlight in the winter can lead to lack of Vitamin D, BUT that doesn’t mean you should throw away the sunscreen – No Siree – your wrinkles won’t thank you for that! But getting outside for 10 minutes without sunscreen is all you need. In just a few minutes, your skin is unlikely to suffer and you’ll be filling up your Vitamin D quota.

Vitamin-D-Foods

Don’t forget to eat the right foods as well – eggs, mushrooms, fatty fish, meat and fortified cereals all help, but if you’re suffering with the winter blues, fatigue and general lethargy more than usual, it’s a good idea to ask your GP for a blood test. You may just be deficient and not even realise it.

I’ll be writing about Ways to Get Happy a lot more over the coming months, as happiness is something we just can’t get enough of! In the meantime, you might want to invest in your own little Vitamin D spray of sunshine, which you can find hereΒ at Β£10.97.

3 thoughts on “Get Happy with The Sunshine Vitamin D3

    1. Hi Jess…I absolutely love the sunshine too and there’s nothing nicer than a bright, sunny day to lift the spirits is there? Though I am careful not to burn and I keep SPF’d up as much as possible :-). Thanks for dropping by to my blog! xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

